Why Join?
President's Letter
Board of Directors
Board Minutes
SDPOA Auxiliary
SDPOA Seminar
Spirit of 6 Award
SDPOA Essay Winner
By-Laws & Rules
Links Page


Spirit of 6 Award


Brief History of the "Spirit of 6" Award


Six Rapid City “Cobbler” cheerleaders and three adults were killed in March of 1968 returning from the State “A” Basketball Tournament in Sioux Falls. The large twin engine Beechcraft plane burst into flames after skidding off the runway while it was landing.


Killed in the accident were cheerleaders; Shirley Landstrom, Kay McNutt, Terry Blanton, Jan Glaze, Gail Flohr and Diane McCluskey; Mrs. Ivan Landstrom, Ivan Landstrom (who was the pilot) and Mrs. Dorothy Lloyd (squad advisor).


The Spirit of Six is thought to have first originated as the idea of Freddie Shick, a Board member from Rapid City and a past cheerleader at the University of Wyoming.  Freddie Shick, along with Bob Schukenecht, a Lt. on the Highway Patrol, made the proposal to the Sheriff’s and Police Officers' Association (now known as the South Dakota Peace Officers’ Association). The Resolution was made and passed to present a trophy to the outstanding cheerleaders of the State “A” and “B” tournaments each year.  After approval from the South Dakota Athletic Association, the first "Spirit of Six" Trophy was awarded January 24, 1970 at the Ramkota Inn in Sioux Falls.


After approximately three years and much campaigning, the trophy was allowed to be given on the floor of the Arena during half time.


Current Winners of "Spirit of Six" Trophy


Girls B Basketball:  McLaughlin

horizontal rule

Girls A Basketball:  Red Cloud

horizontal rule

Girls AA Basketball: Aberdeen Central

horizontal rule

Boys B Basketball: Hanson County

horizontal rule

Boys A Basketball: Lennox

horizontal rule

Boys AA Basketball: Pierre


Past Winners of Spirit of Six Trophy


Girls Basketball           Boys Basketball




horizontal rule

Home ] Why Join? ] President's Letter ] Board of Directors ] Board Minutes ] SDPOA Auxiliary ] SDPOA Seminar ] SDPOA News ] [ Spirit of 6 Award ] SDPOA Essay Winner ] Scholarships ] Constitution ] By-Laws & Rules ] Links Page ]

South Dakota Peace Officers' Association